(  last login Jun 4, 2019     ad #1786 )

Oakland, California
50 years old
Agnostic / not religious
Body type:
5' 6"  (168cm)
Cancer (June 21 - July 22)
Marital status:
Single (never married)
Have Kids:
At home
Want Kids:
Not sure
Income: undisclosed
Relocation: Possible
Relationship: Serious relationship/marriage OR activity partner

My description:

My kindergarten teacher told my mother, "There are leaders and there are followers, and then there is your daughter, and she will go her own way."

Tomboy/androgynous, long-term vegan, passionate about social justice, holistic health, the environment. Hardworking, responsible, simultaneously non-materialistic and unenamoured with poverty, college educated with a working-class soul, a survivor who's overcome great adversity.

Life these days is spent mostly earning the daily bread as a bean counter and raising my 7 yr old, but I am also a social justice activist (anti-Zionist, Jew for a Free Palestine), environmentalist, massage therapist, former inner-city teacher, wanna make the world a better place type rabble-rouser. I think and feel deeply, couldn't pull off light and bubbly if I tried. I recycle and freecycle every shred of everything, drive a biodiesel car, trap-neuter-release the feral cats on my block, buy almost nothing new. On weekends you might find me occupying a bank to help save homes from foreclosure, or on the grass at the Malcolm X Jazz Festival.

I'm old-school in many ways; don't own a "smartphone," i-devices, or a GPS. Call me old-fashioned, but I prefer real-time contact to Facebook postings.

I was horrified to learn as a child that eating meat meant eating animals. As soon as I learned there were people in the world called vegetarians, who lived just fine without eating animals, I knew I was one. I was 13 when I became vegetarian, and 26 when I went vegan.

I hate capitalism, know it is killing us, hate the rat race. I think often these days of living someplace smaller, greener/cleaner, safer, more affordable, more sustainable, more friendly & peaceful. My quest is to find such a place that still has some diversity, and doesn't get cold enough to snow!

My child is multi-ethnic (African American/Native American/Jewish), and it is important in our lives that all of his roots are honored. Yo y mi hijo somos bilingues.


I'm looking for a fellow deep soul (either set of plumbing will do), vegan or almost so, who cherishes heartfelt communication, raising kids as consciously as possible, living with a light footprint, travel & quiet time at home, life outside the usual boxes, making the most of our limited time on a finite planet. You communicate deeply, honestly, openly, without hidden skeletons. You've worked on yourself, are comfortable in your skin, capable of loving longterm, able to work thru the bumps.

You are either vegan or close to it. Neither alcohol nor other mood-altering substances are regularly featured in your life. You show up fully for any children you've helped bring into the world.

I don't care how you earn your living, so long as you do it ethically. I do connect best with others who are politically left, passionate & expressive, unconventional in some way.

I have loved women and I have loved men. I am open to a life partner with either set of plumbing. I tend to be attracted to women ranging from "natural" to tomboy to butch, and to men who can be simultaneously masculine and feminist / unattached to traditional gender roles. I resonate most with folks of color (having grown up in the Bronx in the 70s-80s). That said, I try to keep an open mind.

You must be ok with the fact that my child comes first.




vegan organic dark chocolate
Payment | Links | Events Calendar | Advertisers | About | Terms of Service | Billing Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact
Copyright © 1999-2019 Open Heart Dating All rights reserved.
Vampire & Vegan
VegNews Vegetarian Magazine
Advertise on veggiedate for $30 per month