vajragirl
(  last login Sep 21, 2017     ad #109212 )





Location:
Sydney, Australia
Age:
47 years old
Gender:
female
Ethnicity:
Caucasian / White
Diet:
Veggie/vegan
Religion:
Buddhist
Alcohol:
Infrequently
Smokes:
Never
Body type:
Average
Height:
5' 6"  (168cm)
Sign:
Leo (July 23 - Aug 23)
Marital status:
Single (never married)
Have Kids:
None
Want Kids:
No (more) children
Education:
PhD/Post Doc
Income: $80,000 to $100,000
Relocation: Possible
Relationship: Casual dates OR serious relationship/marriage
   

My description:

I have recently returned to Australia after living in India and Bhutan for the last decade. I had lots of wonderful and thrilling adventures, studied languages, Buddhism, traditional medicines and did a lot of voluntary work with animals and vet hospitals and shelters. I am now finishing my Ph.D. and have to write a lot of words before I'm free to toddle off to Asia again!

I live in the inner west and love walking to the fab vegan restaurants on King St and seeing awesome films at the Dendy. I also like cooking for friends and gardening, bush walking, swimming, and reading. Although most of my recent reading is for my research and a bit heavy- hence the regular Dendy fix! My recent favourite was Wonder Woman... and am looking forward to The Chicken People documentary coming up.

I have had a deep appreciation and empathy for animals since I was very young. However, when growing up in a meat eating family in country Queensland, the idea of vegetarianism never occurred to me until I read The Higher Taste from the Hare Krishnas when I went to uni. I immediately became vegetarian, sometimes vegan, up until this day. Studying at vet school reinforced all the arguments for a vegetarian diet. It was obvious that it is impossible to provide for animal welfare in modern farms, especially intensive farms. The procedures done to farm animals would be illegal animal cruelty if performed on companion animals. This is a part of the schizophrenic attitude towards animals in our societies. 

I very quickly came to appreciate the other health, environmental and karmic benefits of a vegetarian/ vegan diet. Now I don't see any difference between the muscle flesh of a dog, pig, cow, horse, dolphin, fish, budgie, chicken, human, and have an equal aversion to eating meat from any of those creatures.

I am normally quite active, young for my age, with volunteering, both for animals and my Buddhist community, and adventurous- visiting the Himalayas regularly, hiking, touring, motorbiking. It would be great if you wanted to come sometimes.

Seeking:

While living in South Asia, vegetarianism was the norm. So returning to Australia was such a culture shock, to find people attacking you for your culinary choices. After living in vegetarian houses for 20 years, I couldn't cohabit with meat eaters anymore, nor date one. So I am looking for a fellow vegetarian/ vegan man who has a streak of adventure, a spiritual practice, is kind and sensuous, and is active and loves the outdoors. Non-smoking, health conscious, generous of spirit and with an enquiring mind, a chid-like curiosity about the world.



vegan organic dark chocolate
Payment | Links | Events Calendar | Advertisers | About | Terms of Service | Billing Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact
Copyright © 1999-2017 Open Heart Dating All rights reserved.
VegFestLA
Vegan products,cookies,etc.
VegNews Vegetarian Magazine
Advertise on veggiedate for $30 per month