(  last login Dec 19, 2016     ad #106563 )

Washington, DC
40 years old
Body type:
5' 6"  (168cm)
Gemini (May 21 - June 20)
Marital status:
Single (divorced)
Have Kids:
Want Kids:
I want (more) children
Income: $40,000 to $60,000
Relocation: Possible
Relationship: Serious relationship/marriage OR activity partner

My description:

At the Buddhist temple where I meditate, one of the organizers who couldn't remember my name listed me as "Dog Lady" on the mailing list. That's a fairly good summary right there. But I suppose I need to write more than that.

Let's see....

I have 2 big-ish dogs whom I adore. Since getting them, I only go on trips where I can drive because I have to bring them along. In other words, I camp, hike, or visit friends and relatives when I travel these days. I used to have quite a bit of wanderlust and have visited a fair share of foreign countries, but the restlessness for foreign travel seems to have left me - at least temporarily - and now I generally crave an uncrowded trail in a forest where I can surreptitiously let my dogs run around off leash.

I used to be an engineer for the US Navy but became unhappy, used my GI Bill money to take art and design classes at UDC, and now I'm trying to decide what to do next with my life. I'm thinking of teaching high school physics and am currently reviewing all the physics I learned over the years so I can pass a physics test to get my provisional teaching license. I'm not 100% sure I'm going to teach but there are aspects of the job that sound appealing to me. 1) I really like physics. 2) I really like kids - yes, even teenagers. 3) Teaching public school seems more worthy to me at this point than becoming a defense contractor. 4) I wouldn't have to travel for work. 5) A nice yearly summer vacation.

I like sci-fi and fantasy. The original Star Trek is one of my go-to shows when I want something on to keep me company while I'm doing arts and crafts. Oh, yeah. I do periodically like to try to make things. I usually just end up making a mess but every once in a while I make something cool. I'm currently making my friend a plushy cat tube/house thing for her cats. It's going to look a little crazy but I think the cats will like it. (By the way, my dogs are cat chasers. Big Boy could probably be trained not to do it but Girlie was semi-feral when I got her and I wouldn't trust her around small animals.)

I have a nice group of girlfriends here in DC, a few platonic male friends are in the mix but the girls often hang out alone. I also have a nice group of gay male friends, although that group is shrinking as people move away from DC. One of my first DC friends just moved to Portland, and I'm thinking of a long road trip through the Dakotas, Montana, Wyoming, etc. next summer to visit him and my uncle who lives out in Sun River, Oregon with his 4th (!!) wife. My girls and I like to go dancing sometimes, drink and eat a bit of cannabis. One of my friends is really into Burning Man so our get-togethers have occasionally veered into Burner territory, although not that much because some of my friends were very uptight teenagers and as adults they consider getting drunk and doing karaoke a really wild time. 

I own an old rowhouse, which I bought when I was still working as an engineer. I currently rent out the bedrooms to hip 20- and 30- somethings who all came to DC to make a difference. I mean that a bit sardonically, but honestly I do like my housemates. They are fun and interesting people with big good dreams of improving the world. The basement is my little studio apartment. Although I do go upstairs, I like that my basement is a self-contained world when I need it to be.

I grew up going to a Christian church but my house was full of Buddhas and Buddhist iconography and devoid of Christian iconography. It's curious in retrospect, but it felt normal at the time. My dad is from a Buddhist country but doesn't practice so I didn't really learn much about Buddhism until the last couple of years. The more I read about it and listen to skilled Buddhist teachers, the more it feels like a coalescing of things I already believed that were hidden behind the distractions and materialism of samsaric life. As a philosophy it makes so much sense. Sometimes I feel like an atheist. Sometimes I believe in God. But whichever way I feel is irrelevant to Buddhism. I can be a Buddhist whether or not there are Gods overhead.


So about you....

I guess you'll tell me about yourself if and when you contact me. Speaking of that, please contact me if:

- you are a vegetarian (I'm assuming you wouldn't be on this site otherwise)

- you hope to have a family either the old-fashioned way or through adoption

- you were not put off by anything you read above

- you do actually like to talk to and spend time with the lady in your life even if it's just sharing a couch while each person does some little activity.

- you have healthy relationships with friends and family

- you try to "Always look at the bright side of life" (That's a Monty Python reference) 

vegan organic dark chocolate
Payment | Links | Events Calendar | Advertisers | About | Terms of Service | Billing Agreement | Privacy Policy | Contact
Copyright © 1999-2017 Open Heart Dating All rights reserved.
Vegan products,cookies,etc.
VegNews Vegetarian Magazine
Advertise on veggiedate for $30 per month